Banking Holidays in France 2013

In France there is only one public holiday provided for by law – 1st May (Labour Day or la Fête du Travail). All other public holidays are provided by convention collective (agreement between employers’ and employees’ unions) or by agreement of the employer.
Below is the list of official non-working public holidays when French banks remain closed in 2013:

1 January, Tuesday – New Year’s Day (Jour de l-An)

29 March, Friday – Good Friday (Vendredi Saint)

1 April, Monday – Easter Monday (Lundi de Pâques)

1 May, Wednesday – May Day (Fête du Travail)

8 May, Wednesday – Victory in Europe Day (Fête de la Victoire)

9 May, Thursday – Ascension Day (Ascension)

19 May, Sunday – Whit Sunday

20 May, Monday – Whit Monday (Lundi de Pentecôte)

14 July, Sunday – Bastille Day (Fête Nationale de la France)

15 August, Thursday – Assumption of Mary (Assomption)

1 November, Friday – All Saints’ Day (Toussaint)

11 November, Monday – Veterans Day / Armistice Day / Remembrance Day (Armistice 1918)

25 December, Wednesday – Christmas Day (Noël)

26 December, Thursday – St Stephen’s Day (only Alsace and Moselle) (Saint Etienne)


Category: Articles